September 11, 2001

The anniversary of 9-11 is approaching once again.  I will never forget where I was on that awful day.

I began my day with a workout on the treadmill.  While I was walking, a special report came on the news, the announcer said a plane had hit the World Trade Center.  A wave of sadness and sympathy washed over me for the injured, the dead and their families but I continued on with my walk.  Then the news of the second plane came over the television and the confirmation the jets were commercial airliners.  A chill hit me all the way through my bones.  

My husband had left from Midway airport to LaGaurdia airport for a business meeting in Manhattan.  His plane was scheduled to land around the time of the crashes.  I went straight to my computer and checked his flight information.  I could not confirm the landing.  Somehow I was able to hold it together while watching the news reports and waiting for his flight information.  I called the airline but they would neither confirm or deny the landing of my husband’s flight.

My husband’s plane had landed as scheduled at LaGuardia between the two crashes into the World Trade Center.  I finally received confirmation around 10:30 a.m. that indeed his plane had landed safely.  My husband had a cell phone and tried to call me as soon as he landed and heard what was happening in the city but the cell towers could not keep up with the phone traffic.  His communications would not reach me until 11:00 a.m.

I was so relieved to hear his voice that I actually cried tears of joy.  I urged my husband to get on a train and head home.  He was only supposed to be in Manhattan for the day.  He didn’t have anything with him except his business papers and cell phone.  Luckily he has family in Queens and was able to stay with them as he didn’t get home for three days. He was finally able to rent a car and drive 12 1/2 hours home. 

We thank all of the heroes that helped defeat the attack on America that day.  We will always remember the civilians on the planes, in the buildings and on the ground, the police, the firefighters, the service animals and the soldiers who bravely fought the enemy and completed the search and rescue.  And I will always remember the words of George Bush, “Terrorist attacks can shake the foundations of our biggest buildings, but they cannot touch the foundation of America. These acts shatter steel, but they cannot dent the steel of American resolve.”

My heart goes out to all who lost a loved one in the 9-11 tragedy.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

